Yardbarker
x
Watch: Should this have been a handball against Spain?
Marc Cucurella. picture alliance

Watch: Should this have been a handball against Spain?

Friday's big Euro quarterfinal match between Spain and Germany went to extra time after things were knotted up 1-1 after 90 minutes.

But in the 105th minute, a controversial no-call may have cost Germany a spot in the semifinals. German striker Jamal Musiala shot a ball on target inside the penalty area but was interrupted by Spanish defender Marc Cucurella's hand.

The on-field referee let play continue, and after the video assistant referee took a look, it was determined not to be an infraction — presumably because Cucarella's arm was near enough to his body and not in an unnatural position.

If Germany had been awarded a penalty, they could have had an opportunity to take a 2-1 lead and potentially advance to the next round.

Ultimately, the Spanish scored the go-ahead goal in the 119th minute to clinch the victory.

Now through to the semifinals, Spain will await the winner of France and Portugal who play on Friday afternoon.

Austen Bundy

Austen Bundy is a journalist and sports junkie from the Washington, D. C. area

More must-reads:

Customize Your Newsletter

Yardbarker +

Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!